Showing posts with label gimp. Show all posts
Showing posts with label gimp. Show all posts

Sunday, July 6, 2025

Gimp 3 - I Finally Gave In

GIMP 3 - I Finally Gave In

I switched to GIMP 3 primarily for its improved high-resolution screen scaling on my XPS 13.

Without High-Res Screen

I still use v2.10. Gimp boots so slow on Windows it isn't worth it.

Why I Switched

GIMP 3 handles high-resolution screen scaling much better than version 2.10. I've been using 2.10 on my XPS 13 for years with poor scaling results.

Installation Issues

The official GIMP 3 installation loads very slowly, which isn't practical for regular use. I removed it and tried Samj's portable version instead.

Samj's Portable GIMP 3

This version loads faster but slower than 2.10. It is usable. It's a significant improvement over the official installer.

Download Link

Samj's Portable GIMP 3

Key Points

  • Proper high-resolution scaling support
  • Normal loading speeds (unlike the official version)
  • Includes useful plug-ins
  • No installation required
  • Still working on adding the old Layer Effects plug-in

Conclusion

If you need better scaling support on high-resolution displays, Samj's portable GIMP 3 is worth trying. The performance improvement over the official installer makes it more practical for regular use.

Thursday, June 16, 2022

Gimp Adding Scripts, Fonts, Plug-ins

*Ha, I'm back to Partha's portable. Recent upgrade broke some stuff I use. Run Partha once and it setup up preferences folders.

Portable Gimp adds a "portable" folder to add scripts, fonts and plug-ins.
Installed Gimp does not. Those folders are deeper in the program.

I add a fold in the main Gimp folder called "whatever you want" and add scripts, fonts and plug-ins subfolders. I place my additions in those folders.

In Gimp go to preferences, folders and add those folders.

Installed Gimp is easier to upgrade than portable and I'm leaning toward using the installed version.

Folder Setup
preferences
- scripts
- fonts
- plug-ins

Place the preferences folder in the Gimp root folder
Open Gimp>Preferences>Folders and add the folder paths to Gimp

Keep the Preferences folder in the cloud for future setups.

Tuesday, September 8, 2020

Gimp On 4K Screen

 I have a 4k Dell XPS 13 and Gimp has been miserable to use. 
All the controls have been so small as to make clicking on them almost impossible. 
I've tried different themes within Gimp and adjusting setting. Nothing helped much.

Then I adjusted the Dell resolution to 1920x1080 and Gimp looked normal.
... I adjusted Dell back to recommended 4k
...... Closed Gimp
......... Opened Gimp again
............ And got this
Looks normal to me. Hope is sticks
***Caution - I am positive I tried this before with no positive result but wouldn't swear to it. So give it a few tries.

 

Monday, September 3, 2018

Gimp - Easy Setup

Gimp - Tired of fighting with setup?
You have Gimp just the way you want it . . . all the plug-ins, scripts, fonts, brushes . . .
and you need it on another PC or a new version comes out. Set it up once and save it.

Go to Partha's Place and grab the portable version.
After the zip is downloaded start the program and the "portable" folder will be installed.
May be better SamJ He seems to get new versions out faster. (put addons in "preferences")
As of late SamJ update is hard to find on his site.

Then paste all your favorite stuff here:
Life just became easier.
I save a completed setup on Dropbox for download to different PC.

Orange + Teal setting
Shadows Cyan -16
Highlights Magenta -34 Yellow -44

Dodge & Burn
1. Create a new layer.
2. Fill it with gray (# 808080).
3. Switch layer mode to Grain Merge.
4. Use Dodge tool on highlights you want to look brighter.
5. Use Burn tool on shadows you want to look darker.
6. These actions should be performed on the gray layer.

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

How To Add Fonts, Plug-ins and Scripts In Gimp

Portable Gimp has always been a hunting expedition to find the Gimp font folder. But installed Gimp's font folder was always reliably in the user section along with the plug-ins and scripts folders. These were secondary folders and empty so you did not need to add your fonts, scripts and plug-ins into the main folders with all the other confusing mess of files.

With my recent install of Gimp 2.8.22 the same user folders do not exist. This had me stumped. The main font, plug-ins and scripts folders are in three different sub folders of the main program and filled with the usual array of files that will make adding your own confusing if you wish to remove something that you added and is now causing problems. Neither do I wish to add more fonts within Windows to load up each time I boot . . . Despite all those YouTube tutorials explaining this is just the ticket for adding fonts to Gimp.

Well, this may be the answer. In the preferences menu you can designate multiple folder for all these items.
Just create the usual fonts, plug-ins and scripts folders in the Gimp user folder and point the preferences to those folders.  I actually create a shortcut for the Gimp user folder and place it into my Rocket Dock for quick access. Yes, I am lame enough to use Rocket Dock . . . Don't judge me.

After all this . . . I find that in my Gimp 2.8.22 install, the folder preferences already had the proper user folders set up. The actual user folder did not have the folders installed in the normal manner (except for plug-ins folder finally showed up). Just a quirk on this install probably but good information anyway. I created the other two folders and all went well.

Gimp 2.10
Resynthesizer will work. Get it here.


Thursday, July 16, 2015

Gimp Install

2018-08-13:
I use four or more different PCs regularly and am sick of tweaking Gimp with my favorite fonts, plug-ins, scripts and preferences on each machine with each Gimp version.
Go to Partha's Place and grab the most recent portable version - currently "GIMP 2.10.4 64-bit Standard Edition portable"
Set it up once and store it in the cloud for download to your machines.
The portable version is easier to locate the fonts, scripts, etc. folders. And Partha includes G'mic in his packages. G'mic can be a pain to get working on your own.
I don't add much anymore . . .





Edit: I have a heck of a time chasing down Script-Fu scripts. Here they are for now
http://www.gimphelp.org/DL/ (Just download the 2.8 scripts and drop in the ones you need.

Alternatively a script installer is here.

For a quick portable version with many tweaks and improvements go to Partha's place. You can also grab the cutting edge beta version. http://www.partha.com/

Recently installing the entire extension pack seems to be too heavy so I started being selective. However installing one plugin from the pack may break another that is already installed. I am back to installing individually. Anyway this is what I currently install:

My addons to Gimp
shellout for adding Nik Effects (code here)
plugin files can not be within their own sub folder
Wallace Deblur
Extension Pack (try it)
gmic
resynthesizer (mostly for the healing function)
The next 3 have moved here
Layer via Copy/Cut
Place layer into selection very useful
Scale layer to image
Save for web
Shadow Highlights
Wavelet denoise
Wavelet sharpen
Water Reflection
FX Foundry (but I don't use it often)
layerfx script http://gimpscripts.com/2011/10/gimp-layer-effects/
fake hdr effects
Gimp Paint Studio (maybe) good presets
Script-Fu (This is now impossible to find so may need extension pack)
High pass for Gimp
Here is a good site for additional scripts
Settings I do:
Do not show layer boundry:
From the main menu, navigate to Edit > Preferences > Image Windows > Appearance
Uncheck Show Layer Boundary under Normal Mode and also Fullscreen Mode
Restart GIMP to for the changes to take effect

Move active layer:
Select the Move Tool for the Tool Box in the left panel
In the Tool Options dialogue box check Move the Active Layer
From the main menu navigate to Edit > Preferences > Tool Options > Save Tool Options Now
Restart GIMP

Mouse Wheel increase/decrease brushsize
edit>preferences>input controllers
double click "main mouse wheel"
highlight Scroll up>edit>select increase brush size
Do opposite for Scroll down

Try your own sharpening with layers:
  1. Open an image.
  2. Duplicate the base layer.
  3. Blur the top layer a bit (Gaussian blur).
  4. Set the top layer blend mode to “Grain Extract”.
  5. Create a New Layer from visible.
  6. Set the new layer blend mode to “Overlay”, and hide the blurred layer.
Copy and/or Invert Layer Mask
Select the layer from which you want to copy the mask

[Right Click] on it and select "Mask to Selection". Alternatively, you can go to Layer -> Mask -> Mask to Selection.

[Right Click] on the layer for which you want to add the mask and select "Add Layer Mask". You can also do this from the menu, Layer -> Mask -> Add Layer Mask (be sure to select it first though).

A dialogue window will open asking how you want to initialise the new layer mask. Choose "Selection" and you're done.

Pictures for printing
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8DAN_Si9my4
or
http://forums.adoramapix.com/entries/228318-Resolution-and-image-quality

cartoon
duplicate 2x, gmic pencil then value, maybe freaky detail,  painting then overlay

Tuesday, May 27, 2014

GIMP Tricks

Interesting detail enhance method

Alternate and simple way to enhance dark photos.

Here is a great way to lighten dark parts of image without blowing out highlights
http://spectacled-bear.hubpages.com/hub/How-to-brighten-up-dark-photos-without-blowing-highlights-using-FREE-software


This photo was too dark in the face and simple brightening would blow all the light areas.

After lightening with layer masks I preserved the lighter detail quite well. I could have completely not lightened some areas by painting out the mask with black and I probably was too extreme in duplicating for lightening but you get the idea.


Masking for hair or detail: Photoshop using channels


Thursday, June 20, 2013

GIMP Extensions Pack for Windows

Trying to install the Gimp Animation Pack or simply finding it is currently impossible. I decided after great deliberation to try installing GAP through the extensions pack, which I never previously trusted and thought was a cruel joke. Holy Cow it worked. What a great compilation. Many thanks to the originator of the compilation installer.

Finding working plug-ins and extensions can be a struggle. This link provides and install program for many of the plug-ins in one package and claims to keep them up to date. Of course reinstall of the plug-ins and extensions would be required. I was shy about using it and tried installing the GAP portion, which is impossible to find anywhere else. GAP worked perfectly. Here is the full link:
http://registry.gimp.org/node/27656

For a quick portable version with many tweaks and improvements go to Partha's place. You can also grab the cutting edge beta version. http://www.partha.com/

Recently installing the entire extension pack seems to be too heavy so I started being selective. However installing one plugin from the pack may break another that is already installed. I am back to installing individually. Anyway this is what I currently install:

My addons to Gimp
gmic
resynthesizer (mostly for the healing function)
Layer via Copy/Cut
Place layer into selection
Scale layer to image
Save for web
Wavelet denoise
Wavelet sharpen
FX Foundry (but I don't use it often)
layerfx script (a little quirky)
fake hdr effects (not too useful but at times can perk something up)
Gimp Paint Studio (maybe)
Script-Fu http://www.gimphelp.org/script28.shtml#downloads
High Pass Filter

Settings I do:
Do not show layer boundry:
From the main menu, navigate to Edit > Preferences > Image Windows > Appearance
Uncheck Show Layer Boundary under Normal Mode and also Fullscreen Mode
Restart GIMP to for the changes to take effect

Move active layer:
Select the Move Tool for the Tool Box in the left panel
In the Tool Options dialogue box check Move the Active Layer
From the main menu navigate to Edit > Preferences > Tool Options > Save Tool Options Now
Restart GIMP

Mouse Wheel increase/decrease brushsize
edit>preferences>input controllers
double click "main mouse wheel"
highlight Scroll up>edit>select decrease brush size
Do opposite for Scroll down

Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Meet, Meet the Gimp.org

I just found a new great Gimp site. Of the highest value is all of the old video podcasts of Meet the Gimp found on this page. Just download them all into three folders and start watching. I have seen this site before but not previously discovered the bulk download page.

Friday, July 20, 2012

Gimp 2.8 Is Here

Gimp 2.8 is here. For Windows users this is the best place to get GIMP.

Anti aliasing is improved. I didn't like the text entry at first but like it now. The old way of text entry is still available but I have not reverted to it. Gimp 2.8 is very good.

Finding working plug-ins and extensions can be a struggle. This link provides and install program for many of the plug-ins in one package and claims to keep them up to date. Of course reinstall of the plug-in would be required. I was shy about using it and tried install the GAP portion, which is impossible to find anywhere else. GAP worked perfectly. Here is the full link:
https://code.google.com/p/gimp-extensions/downloads/detail?name=GIMP_Extensions_v2.8.20130215.exe

I has many plug-ins including G'mic. FX Foundry, liquid rescale, etc. I don't know if it installs Script Fu but I would dare let it install everything after my experience with GAP.

Creating a contrast mask works great if parts of an image are too dark or dull.
gaussian is 1% of average image size HxW/2x.01=gaussian amount

I think this is much better
I did sharpen with unsharp mask. Keep radius below 1 and raise amount
Same here but also added grayscale mask and sharpened after resize
He suggests selecting the foreground but I just dropped the opacity of the gray mask.
I lost some water color by not deleting the background from the gray mask.
I think the gaussian blur calculation helped also. Larger than I would have imagined.
This works wonders.
Here I selected and deleted the gray mask from the water and sky. It does look better.
This saves an unacceptable picture.

Friday, August 5, 2011

Gimp Is A Must Have For Me

I do love Gimp for image manipulation. When creating a graphic for a blog, I find it indispensible.

(now if I only could spell "useless")
Download Gimp
Install it. Standalone is possible but adding scripts and plug-ins is easier if it is installed.
Now go to Gimp’s plug-in registry.

Once there type in “layer effects”, scroll down and download layerfx.scm. Place this file in the “scripts” folder. C:\Users\Your Name\.gimp-2.6\scripts. Reopen Gimp and you will now have a new menu called Script Fu with some nifty stuff, “bevel and emboss” for one.\
Get Liquid Rescale, FX Foundry, G'MIC (awesome), Auto Rotate, arrow script and layerfx.scm if the above method does not work. Layerfx.scm has the scriptfu layers which are very important.
Gimp plugins are .exe files copied to the "plugin" directory. Do Not try install them.
Fonts: Titling (great for poster) fonts can be in sub folders for Gimp. Bazooka for fun flyer.
Gimp will use your Windows fonts but if you want to install additional fonts just for Gimp simply drop the font into Gimp's font folder. Which will be here:C:\Users\"your name"\.gimp-2.6\fonts
A good place to learn a few things is GimpTricks Youtube channel. Unlike many tutorials where you watch them install Gimp, search for a picture and load it, this woman gets to the nitty-gritty right now. ePhotozine is another place for good advice. Another good YouTube site.

Scripts for 2.8
FX Foundry
Normal Map Plugin

Photoshop is fine but bloated for my use. Gimp is free and does everything I need and more. Yes I can place Angelina Jolie's lips on your face.

Arch Text
Adjusting the arch text (I don't like his language but he settles down)
Textures
Python for Gimp is tough to install and I'm still working on it: Actually I gave up for now.
Using Python scripts (find it here) Gimp works fine without it but some functions are missing. Finding the correct files takes some hunting.
Charicature
Obama Hope create just use snipping tool


place screen behind text
copy paste area as new layer
desaturate and brightness and lower contrast -70ist
fill with this color
use these setting on bucket fill
opacity around 50
multiply
Dark blue

r17
g4
b173
drop that layer opacity to 80
create mask and fade by with blend tool

Cartoon technique
  • Layer->Duplicate Layer
  • Select the new layer, Filters->Edge-Detect->Edge, select Sobel, Amount should be 2.0, andBlack should be checked.
  • Invert the edge-mask layer, it’s in Layers->Colors->Invert
  • Back in the Layers Dialog, change the Layer Mode to Divide
Play around with Layer mode settings, desaturate the top layer, blur or otherwise mess up the bottom layer.
Or this:
The bulk of the effect is accomplished by creating a duplicate layer and setting its blend mode to "Value", then running the "Colors->Retinex" filter on the duplicate with a Scale of "16" and a Dynamic "0.1"

This works well but remember to use originals to color and saturate. http://herselfswebtools.com/2007/06/7-steps-to-turn-a-photo-into-a-cartoon-using-gimp.html
HDR can be created with http://www.hdrlabs.com/picturenaut/index.html
Watch the tutorial on YouTube Fotolinq here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qroY5QhgTnI
there are 4 videos for HDR.

PDF Stuff

Best free for now. I find it a little klutzy but it can do most things. PDFgear     winget install  PDFgear.PDFgear  Extracting text locally...